The 2020 CM CARES Religious Scholarship Program

For the fourth year in a row, CM CARES, the Church Mutual Insurance Foundation, will award up to $250,000 in scholarships to deserving graduate-level religious scholars. Fifty scholarship winners will each receive a $5,000 award that may be used to pay for tuition, fees, books or other costs of attending school during the 2020-21 academic year. Students of all faiths may apply.

To be eligible for this scholarship, a student must:

  • Be enrolled or be planning to enroll in a full-time or part-time*, graduate or doctorate religious studies program** at an accredited or conditionally accredited*** United States theological seminary, college, or university of higher learning, for the entire 2020-21 academic year.

  • Usually a minimum of 6 credits; however, this varies by school. If you are unsure whether you are enrolled part-time, please check what your school’s part-time enrollment policy is.

  • Applicants must be pursuing a master’s or doctorate degree in an area of religious study. This can be any area of religious study provided the applicant intends to enter full-time ministry following completion of studies.

  • Institutions in the process of achieving accreditation.

  • Demonstrate personal impact throughout education, work experiences, and volunteerism.

  • Have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale or its equivalent.

  • Be committed to entering the practice of full-time ministry* in the United States** following completion of studies.

  • Full-time ministry includes holding a paid leadership position within a church body as a primary means of income.

  • Must be physically within the United States.

  • International applicants are not eligible to apply for this program. Each scholarship is a one-time, non-renewable award. Previous winners are not eligible.

Program details:

  • The application window runs Feb. 12 through April 8.

  • Applicants can apply online at

  • Applicants cannot apply via email or direct mail – they must apply online via the portal.

  • Students of all faiths are encouraged to apply.

  • The program is open to full and part-time students across the country who are enrolled in a graduate or doctorate religious studies program at an accredited or conditionally accredited theological seminary, college or university.

  • Winners will be announced in June 2020.

Please contact Jenny Fecteau with questions regarding this information at